My Packing List

3 Feb

Today is the day I begin packing. I’m going to start early and hopefully that will make the transition as easy as possible. Moving day is set for March 1st, however, our current lease isn’t up until March 15th. That gives me two weeks to move everything which also means we will not be renting a moving truck (yay!). Last time we moved the truck ended up costing around $100 after gas and all that. I’m trying to save as much money as possible during this transition so that’s one way. I can move most of the boxes and smaller furniture in my car. The back seats fold down to give a good bit of room  and we will borrow my step-dad’s pickup truck for one day on a weekend and use it to haul the big stuff. I think it should only take 1 or 2 trips.

Now I’m going to put together a packing plan…

-4 weeks:

  • winter clothes (it never got cold enough to wear them this year!)
  • Knick knacks (I have LOTS)
  • DVD’s/Records/CD’s/etc. (we can live off of internet media)
  • Books (I have my Nook to hold me over)

-3 weeks:

  • Consolidate seasonal (1 Halloween box, 2 Xmas boxes, 1 random other box)
  • Craft supplies (Yarn… oh the yarn…)
  • Jewelry (leave out a couple pieces for work)
  • Shoes (leave out 3 pairs: one black, one brown, one sandal)
  • purses

-2 weeks:

  • Decorations (lots of wall decorations)
  • Curtains
  • Extra linens
  • Kitchen Gadgets (the ones we rarely use like the quesadilla maker and waffle iron)
  • Pet supplies (I’ll leave out the shampoo, brush and food because I always bathe him just before moving him to a new house)
  • Clothes (leave out about 1 week worth and 2 nice outfits for meetings)

-1 week:

  • Dishes (leave a couple out for use during the week)
  • Pantry items
  • Spices/Oils/Etc.
  • Electronics (except for tv/desktop computer)
  • Throw pillows
  • Files (finances important papers, etc.)
  • Office supplies

Moving Day:

  • Move all things already packed (We’ll probably still be sleeping in the old apartment for a day or so until the weekend when we can get a pickup truck)
  • Submit change of address form

First weekend:

  • Furniture (bed, bed frame, headboard, 2 living chairs, sofa, cedar chest, jewelry cabinet, bicycle)
  • Smaller furniture with car (coffee table, end tables, tea cart)
  • Dog and Bird
  • Bathroom items

Follow-up:

  • Anything left over
  • Bring anything unwanted to local charity thrift store
  • clean old apartment and fix any wall damage
  • Move cleaning supplies/vacuum
  • Drop off key

This seems like a good plan. I’ll be referencing this a lot in the upcoming month as I try to get everything together.

As for today, I’ll be working most of the day on a project/presentation to be due on Monday so not much time for much else. But, I will try to get some packing done. There will be lots of tea.

2 Responses to “My Packing List”

  1. becomingcliche February 3, 2012 at 2:26 pm #

    Good luck with the move. Hope the new place is awesome.

    • Ashley February 3, 2012 at 2:30 pm #

      Thanks! I hope it is too!

Leave a Reply

