Some Seriousness Pt 2

22 Jan

Alright guys… let me lay some heaviness on you all. I haven’t blogged much the past couple days because I’ve been having some serious ups and downs and have been hoping they’ll just pass, but no luck so far. I was diagnosed as bipolar only last year having been told I was merely chronically depressive most of my life. I have swings like it’s no one’s business. I try my best not to put my negative moods into the world but sometimes it can lead to some serious thinking…

Today I’ve been reading news. Never a good thing. I think what bothers me the most is the lack of awareness out there. The lack of anger. The lack of panic. Why is no one else freaking out like I am? Why is no one else slightly terrified of bringing a new life into this world we live in considering the direction we’re headed? I’m not just talking about the degrading morals… I’m talking about the 1st world taking everything for granted and not realizing what deep shit we’re in (pardon mon français) .

Water. It is in everything we eat, everything we drink, most things we do involve this seemingly commonplace liquid. The average American uses roughly 176 gallons of it a day. We are running out. FAST. It has been predicted that by the year 2050 the world will be facing the largest scale water crisis in the history of recorded time. That’s what…. less than 40 years from now? Quite frankly… what are we doing, people?

Amount of water used, per day, to irrigate the world’s golf courses: 2.5 billion gallons

Amount of people in the world who lack access to safe and clean drinking water: 884 million people

And we’re watering golf courses.

Anyone else having a “wtf?” moment?

Have some music for this next section: Mizan Version David Bowie/Trent Reznor Version

The average American uses more clean drinkable water in a 5 minute shower than the average impoverished African family uses in a day. England uses about half what Americans do and Japan a third.

What I’m really getting at is that we have more in the news about Brad and Angelina than we do about this? Why? Because Brad and Angelina sell and this is the scary truth. Ostriches. No one wants to acknowledge the alarms going off around them so they bury their head in the sand.

It’s great for me to dream of having kids and moving into a house and progressing in my career, but the terrifying reality is that it may not go that way. A human being can go for almost a month without food… but only a week without water.

Did you know that there are large corporations buying up the water rights throughout the world and hoarding it? Imagine a world where bottled water is no longer a choice. Where you turn on the tap and nothing comes out. Imagine water being sold by the gallon at ever-rising prices as the supply erodes.

It’d be like gas prices… only if you can’t pay it it’s much worse than having to give up your precious car… it’s life or death.

It makes me very sad to think that I may tell my children about the days of having a pool in the backyards and playing in the yard with the hose knowing they’ll never experience the same.

But, there are children in the world right now who never got that luxury.

All I want is for people to take the time to face the truth about this and other things happening in the world around them. Don’t be distracted by the media’s shiny celebrities. Pay attention to what’s going on. Watch a documentary instead of a romantic comedy. Watch it with your kids. Learn something together. Grow the bonds of your family by knowing how much you rely on one another.

And please… save resources whenever you can and I will try to do the same. I’m not perfect. But, I am scared. I guess that’s something.

Tomorrow’s post will be much nicer, I promise.

Facts from Water Facts and Water.org

One Response to “Some Seriousness Pt 2”

  1. Nikki January 23, 2012 at 1:39 pm #

    I think about that a lot. There are people who also worry about this. They are creating composting toilets, because if you think about it.. why O why.. do we need to urinate and defecate in CLEAN WATER that could otherwise be used for food or drinking? Hey.. we do our not so very best conserving, with our privileged daily routines. If waste makes you upset, then kids.. the little ones..oh boy. They waste without understanding. Unless they are living in the middle of a dust bowl, they will waste and will not realize it at all. When I get to feeling like this I remember what my very secluded, introverted brother told me. He said, “At any given point in time there are large monumental threats to the total existence of the world that could wipe us all out. Whether it be nuclear war, or large meteors passing very closely to the Earth, you really just don’t know how close you’ve been or how close you will come to total annihilation. And there is NOTHING that you, or anyone else can do about it. So there isn’t any need to worry about it. It gets you no where and it serves no purpose.” Well, I do think about what he said, but there is an organization that I found called “world visions” and although does have religious underpinnings, they collect money to build water wells in third world countries. We donated for a water well last Christmas with them. That is something that made us at least feel like we were doing something. We can’t hang ourselves up on the what if’s or else we couldn’t live our lives to the fullest. Just be, do what you can, and don’t sweat what you can’t control.

Leave a Reply

