Just a Short “Hello”

20 Jan

Ok so haven’t been on much the past few days because of work. Sorry.

I do, however, have some fun news!

  1. Today my OPK showed positive (so keep your fingers crossed for me!)
  2. Hubs and I actually agreed on a boy name. [GASP!]

We both like the name Silas. I’m adding that to the first ever “agreed upon” names list.

You know… while we’re on the topic of names: the other day I was looking up some stats on a couple names (I don’t want any names in the top 100, I check for feedback from people with that name, the meaning of names, etc.) and I came across a forum post written by a girl who was simply terrified that her brother’s girlfriend admitted to having always wanted to name her first daughter Jack (not Jackie, or Jacqueline or any variation there of). I have to admit… it kind of annoyed me because of the amount of people responding and saying how wrong it was to name a girl that. I know girls named Frankie, Charlie, Taylor, Toni, Jessie, Ashley, Jamie, Justyn, Skyler, Max, Mickey, Kelly, and Van. All of them “boy” names. Some of them, I’ll admit, have fallen into primary use by girls like Ashley and Kelly. But, originally they were traditionally boys’ names. Personally, I think if the mother wants to name her daughter Jack that she should go for it and I think it’s adorable. There is no right or wrong way to name your kid. If the kid hates it they can get it changed when they’re a little older.

I’m afraid I have a lot of work to catch up on today so this post is going to be regrettably short. I will hopefully make a much longer post tomorrow as I have more to share with you guys.

2 Responses to “Just a Short “Hello””

  1. Kelly @leafynotbeefy January 20, 2012 at 12:59 pm #

    I completely agree with you on the name thing!!! And I really love the name Silas too! Good luck! 🙂

    • Ashley January 22, 2012 at 9:53 pm #

      Thanks!! I guess it comes from myself having the number 2 most popular name from the year I was born and always being surrounded by other Ashley’s and when my friends would talk on the phone to other friends they’d always say “I’m with Ashley” and from the other end always came “Which one?” 😛

Leave a Reply

