Getting Organized

16 Jan

Today, I woke up with a lot of energy. I feel like today is a day for getting things done. Mostly, organizing.

I am not the neatest or most organized person on the planet (by far). I always struggle with keeping things in order, on time and generally from being a giant mess. So, today I’m researching some creative organization tips and thought I’d share some very useful ones with you!

SO handy!

So, this is an awesome idea! I love the hanging canisters by ribbons from the hooks along the bottom. I think this would be great for the various notepads I have around the office as well as my business cards, etc. I could put a ruler where the have wrapping paper. This would definitely free up some space on my desk.

Clothespin To-Do

Adorable and flexible!

I love this to-do list because you can easily move things around and it looks a whole lot nicer than all the post-it notes piled around the edge of my computer monitor. My to-do lists are massive.

File Box

So cute!

This is adorable! Especially since I’m always needing to file something and I hate filing cabinets with a passion! Although, I may replace the letter with a pretty printed tag or something like that; this is still a fantastic idea! If you click on the picture it will take you to a tutorial on how to make this awesome box (and a fantastic craft blog).

So, those are the ideas I have brewing at present. I had a really cute idea for something else, but I’ll have to see whether or not it’s cost-effective before I make it. I’m kinda broke, after all.

Also, today I have been pondering baby names. Again (still in cycle #1… OPK has not shown positive yet this month). I think the naming will be one of my favorite parts of having a baby. For me, it sets forth a part of their personality (Although, I watched an interesting documentary once that claimed names have very little true impact on children aside from job opportunities). Here’s the list of names I’m pondering today. Keep in mind none of these have been approved by the hubs, so many of these are probably not really in the running. (I’m putting the meanings of the name after each one)

Girls:

  1. Zoe – Life (I just love the meaning. I hope that my child would be able to embody it daily)
  2. Heidi – Noble
  3. Kaylan – Slender
  4. Riley – Rye clearing (an ex-coworker I know and rather dislike named her daughter this so… iffy)
  5. Corinne – Maiden (koh-rin…. may be confusing because my aunt’s name is Karin…)

Boys:

  1. Reese – Enthusiasm (another great meaning)
  2. Owen – Well born
  3. Finn – Fair
  4. Seamus – Supplanter (This was the name of someone from my past that was a really negative influence… but it’s such a nice name)
  5. Alan – Rock

So, those are my thoughts for now. No to-do list as I’m short on time right now.

2 Responses to “Getting Organized”

  1. laughingpromises January 16, 2012 at 5:38 pm #

    I love organising, too! Have you checked out organizedhome.com? Such helpful info and printable pages.

    I’m glad you posted some of your favourite names. I’ll have to post some of mine soon. 🙂

    • Ashley January 16, 2012 at 5:48 pm #

      I’ve never been there before, but I just peeked at it and already I see some articles that I need to read! Thanks for the tip!

      My names lists are ever evolving so I’m sure I’ll post and repost as time goes on. 😛 Can’t wait to see your list!

Leave a Reply

