Rock and Stroll

13 Jan

I never really know what my posts are going to be about until I start typing. Sometimes I have ideas when I’m away from my computer and think to myself “I should write this down so I can write about it later”, but I never do. Or I think “I should take some pictures and I could blog about this later”, but I never do. Gotta work on that.

I’m in a kind of “babies-on-the-brain” mood again because my basal thermometer arrived last night and this morning was the first time I recorded my temperature on my chart. I’ll laugh my head off if I actually get pregnant this month and am left over with something like 20 OPK strips and a brand new hardly used basal thermometer. Of course, getting preggers this month would be a little bit of awesome.

Let’s talk about some of my favorite baby stuff!

Cribs/Furniture

I love the convertible crib sets because it makes so much sense! The crib comes with all the necessary pieces to become a toddler bed and then a full-sized headboard and footer! A lot of the sets include dressers and changing tables that become end tables when baby is older.

Although I love the look of things like this Scandinavian Cradle from Luxury Lamb… at $800 for a piece that baby will outgrow in a year or two it just make absolutely no sense (or cents… see what I did there?).

For the same price (and often times much less) you get a bed that stays with your kids for YEARS. All through their infant-teenage life as long as the construction holds up. My favorite one so far is this crib by Stork Craft sold at Target (for a whopping $229). I think I like it because of those 2 wider panels on it. As the kid gets older and wants new furniture not only could you paint the crib/headboard/thingamawijit but you could do some awesome DIY art type stuff on those panels to really personalize it and tailor it more to your kids interests. Heck, let the kid do it! (I was forever painting and repainting my walls and furniture as a kid. Loved it!)

Strollers

I think strollers are awesome. I totally drive a VW beetle. Where the [redacted] am I supposed to put a stroller?! I guess I’ll worry about that after I figure out where I’m putting the car seat but just for S&G’s here’s my dream-stroller:

It’s called Apple by iCandy. And frankly… it’s adoralicious. It also has an extendable handle which is suuuuper important because my hubbers is 6’5. He’s up there. It’s bad enough the poor dear works in kitchen where the counters are all built for average height people so he’s hunched over all day at work (his poor back). I see custom height counters in our future. So, this would be a fantastic thing for him. But, at a price tag of $449… paying for a massage may be cheaper. There are plenty of lesser priced strollers out there but I only have eyes for this one at the moment. (Just let me dream a bit)

Well I think we’ll stop here for today. Maybe tomorrow we’ll talk some more about baby stuff. Maybe not. Who knows?

TODAY:

  1. Work (TGIF!)
  2. Clean house
  3. Coffee?
  4. Nap (I’m sleepy)
  5. Continue reading A Feast for Crows by George R.R. Martin
  6. Sleeeeeeep
3 Responses to “Rock and Stroll”

  1. Sajib January 13, 2012 at 3:08 pm #

    For me, ideas come like yours — in the midst of living. I somehow manage to remember them, mostly by logging in to WordPress, typing the title and first few lines and saving it as a draft so that when I’m really going to write that, I’ll get the sense back which I had when the idea first struck.

    • Ashley January 13, 2012 at 3:31 pm #

      That is a genius idea! I could even do that from my phone, I think. Well, that may just fix my “lost topics” problem!

      • Sajib January 13, 2012 at 3:44 pm #

        Yup. definitely. If you don’t have pen and paper, you can just use WordPress mobile site or WordPress Android app (if yours is an Android-run smartphone) to have your thoughts drafted.

Leave a Reply

