Seasons, Songs and Subjects

6 Jan

Waking up at 5:30-ish in the morning is really not my forte’, although I did get to bed early (Around 10) after finally finishing Portal 2. So knock one thing off of the to-do list.

Today I have music on the brain. I tend to go in cycles with what music I listen to. I like my music to reflect the season. It helps me to appreciate the ever-changing world around me. The cycle usually tends to go like this:

  • Spring – light indie-pop, upbeat folk-pop, lots of airy guitars and birdlike voices. (Favorite Spring bands currently include: The Decemberists, Regina Spektor, A Fine Frenzy, CSS, Sufjan Stevens, etc.)
  • Summer – Very bright pop and indie-pop. Tends to be a bit less folky. (Favorite Summer bands include: The Postal Service, Kate Nash, Signal Hill Transmission, Broken Bells, Noah and the Whale, etc.)
  • Autumn – the return to folk-pop but with a bit of a darker tone. (Favorite Autumn bands include: Miike Snow, the Decemberists, Seawolf, The Pierces, Kimya Dawson, Via Audio, Sia, etc.)
  • Winter – Takes a whole new turn and I dive headlong into symphonic, epic, folk and progressive metal. (Favorites in Winter include: Sonata Arctica, Tyr, Eluveitie, Kamelot, Epica, Symphony X, Dream Theater, Agathodaimon, Children of Bodom, Iced Earth, etc.)

I guess it’s kind of odd to pick what you’re listening to by the season but if you’ve never tried it I suggest you do! It creates a year-long ebb and flow. I find without my seasonal soundtrack I’d never know what season it was. See, here in Louisiana (aka Hell) we have only two seasons: Hot as Hell and Uncomfortably Cold. Between these two distinct seasons there is about a two weeks switching period which I lovingly name “Allergy-time”. Mostly because for about 2 weeks everything is wonderful and then immediately following there is one week of hot one day, cold the next, hot the next, etc. The plants and my sinuses get very confused and I ALWAYS end up sick. So the only way for me to keep in mind that there are indeed 4 distinct season is to a) listen to different music and b) drink seasonally flavored coffee.

On the baby-making front… a few years ago (more like five or six) I thought it would be hilarious to give my grandmother a joke gift for Xmas (Did you know that “x” translates as Χριστός or Christ in Greek? Sorry you bought that bumper sticker now, aren’t ya?!). I gave my grandmother a book entitled “Sex After 50″… I had seen it in Spencer’s and hadn’t even bothered to open it before purchasing it because I was finally old enough that sex wasn’t a forbidden topic anymore and apparently I felt the rather immature need to put that into everyone’s face. Sorry, Grams. When I gave it to them it got worse as apparently the entire book was made of blank pages! We all had a good laugh and moved on with the holiday. Ever since my wedding I’ve been badgered with little comments of “You know this family could use some great-grandkids” and the like so as her way of “revenge” she bought me a giant book called “Getting Pregnant Fast”. I know she meant it as a joke but I’ve read almost the whole thing now! It’s  a little out of date (pub’d in 2001), but still full of great information. The months seem to move so much sower when you’re counting days, come on already!

A note on topics:

I realize that this blog is kind of everywhere. Being so I also understand that it will never have the following of some of the more one-topic dedicated blogs out there. Honestly… I could never continuously write about one topic. This blog is an outlet for me for my day-to-day thoughts, activities and ideas. I have absolutely no writing experience and really just like to type and think on the go. That being said, even if someone only looks once at this blog without subscribing, that’s ok with me. Maybe someone may look once, see one thing they like and move on. There’s still a chance they may connect with one thing I write about. That’s the whole goal. Anyway, this is just a me-blog.

Okidoki so this week has been a to-do list flop. Completely. So today I’m making a realistic to-do list.

TODAY:

  1. Work (TGIF!)
  2. Drink coffee (out of milk so having fun with recipes today, may post some good ones.)
  3. Make dinner (Use up the stupid left-over chicken before it goes bad! Waste-not!)
  4. Help hubby set up a blog for his new project (our new aquaponics balcony garden!)
  5. Take Chase for a long walk instead of going to the gym.
  6. Sleep? Who needs it?! It’s the weekend!
2 Responses to “Seasons, Songs and Subjects”

  1. stefisupersonic January 6, 2012 at 11:31 am #

    You’re a very talented writer! The topics may be a little random, but I like this, 🙂

    -Stephanie
    sansupersonic.com

    • Ashley January 6, 2012 at 12:18 pm #

      Oh, my first-ever comment! Thanks so much!

Leave a Reply

